John’s Recon

July 1, 2008

A Great Example of Digital Signal Processing

Filed under: Uncategorized — John Prichard @ 11:53 am

I’ve used my Rio Carbon mp3 player every day since March 2005 until I dropped it last Friday. I really haven’t found anything over the years to upgrade it with that was a good player and yet looked like a disk drive (don’t want music software on my PC just to load my player).

Well now they have video in them as well. I have found my new mp3 player but its called a PMP (premium multimedia player). I have chosen the Cowon D2 with 16Gb of flash memory and with a SD Card slot to add more. This is a fine player, covers my 3000 songs and the video looks nice too. The sound is really something.

So I go online to learn about their BBE and MP sound processing and find this fantastic description of the BBE and MP processing algorithms.

If you even wanted a good explanation of what digital signal processing (I did some of this in my engineering days) does for an mp3 player then read through this because it is easy to understand and gives real perspective in what you can do in the “frequency” domain.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.